Skip to content

Beausoleil FN Youth Council congratulates new chief, councillors

Youth council looks 'forward to working with newly-elected chief and council'


CHRISTIAN ISLAND – Youth Chief Terra Roy and Deputy Youth Chief Lance Copegog have issued the following statement on behalf of the Beausoleil First Nation Youth Council regarding the results of Beausoleil First Nation’s June 23, 2018 general election:

“The Beausoleil First Nation Youth Council offers its sincere congratulations to Guy Monague on his election as Chief of Beausoleil First Nation. We also congratulate those who have been elected as band Councillors for the 2018-2020 term of office.”

“We look forward to working with the newly-elected Chief and Council to create opportunities for Beausoleil’s youth, advance issues of importance to our peers, and meet the needs of the First Nation.”

“Finally, the Beausoleil First Nation Youth Council extends our best wishes to the outgoing Chief and Council. We thank them for their service to our community.”

“We welcome the opportunity to work with the newly elected leadership to build an even stronger relationship.”

Guy Monague was elected to the position of Chief, succeeding incumbent Mary McCue-King. Joanne Sandy, Kristin Monague, Lauraine Judith Jamieson, Hank Monague, Angela Beedie, and C. Susan Copegog were elected as band Councillors. Election results were released at 1 a.m. EST on June 24, 2018. Chief and Council will serve from July 6th, 2018 until the next band election in June 2020."

The Beausoleil First Nation Youth Council represents the youth of the First Nation, advocates on their behalf, and creates a vision for the future.