Skip to content

Four candidates nominated as 2019 Nelle Carter Woman of the Year

Trio of local high school students nominated for Lisa Brooking Young Woman of the year; Awards to be announced at May 8 gala

A quartet of local ladies has been nominated for the coveted Nelle Carter Woman of the Year award - an annual honour presented by the Orillia Business Women’s Association (OBWA).

This year’s nominees are:

  • Tammy Kirkwood (Fair Association of Victims for Accident Insurance Reform);
  • Shannon Shivers (Sharp Image Salon and Spa);
  • Sheelagh Gunn (Juice Plus and Seer Sight); and
  • Allison Abbott (Dragonfly Room Salon Spa)

The Woman of the Year award is named in honour of the late Nelle Carter who was an inspiration to local women. She was president of the family business, president of the Orillia Quota Club, the first woman elected to Orillia Council as Alderman and active in St. Paul’s United Church.  

The award is given to someone respected for her outstanding work in her community, in the workplace, at home, or all three.

The OBWA has also announced the three nominees for the Lisa Brooking Young Woman of the Year Award:

  • Julia Felgner (Twin Lakes Secondary School);
  • Gillian Hunnisett (Orillia Secondary School); and
  • Cassidy Byers (Patrick Fogarty Catholic Secondary School)

The Lisa Brooking award is given to a high-school student who demonstrates high scholastic achievement, participation in extra-curricular activities, volunteer work in the community and ho is seeking post-secondary education.

One nominee from each of the three local high schools is chosen from the student body by staff members.

The awards will be presented at a gala celebration May 8 at the Best Western Mariposa Inn and Conference Centre at 400 Memorial Ave.

Once again this year, the emcee will be Carey Moran from KICX106 FM.

Tickets are $60 each and will only be available online on the local group's website. There is no reserved seating, so organizers urge people to get there early. Social hour begins at 5:30 p.m.

For more about the nominees and the organization, visit their website.


Dave Dawson

About the Author: Dave Dawson

Dave Dawson is community editor of
Read more