Skip to content

Three new directors appointed to hospital board

It was the last AGM for outgoing CEO Pat Campbell and the first for her replacement, Carmine Stumpo

The Orillia Soldiers' Memorial Hospital Board of Directors welcomed three new directors following the corporation’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) and Inaugural Meeting of the new board on Tuesday evening. 

Ligaya Byrch, Dr. Sheila Clark and Lawrence Pietras were approved by the corporate membership, along with incumbents Leigh Popov and Brian Sirbovan, who were endorsed for second terms.  

Byrch is a former Director, Planning, Integration and Community Engagement with the North Simcoe Muskoka LHIN and has held leadership positions with the Barrie Community Health Centre, Barrie Community Family Health Team and the AIDS Committee of Simcoe County.  

Clark is a registered nurse with a diverse international healthcare background that has included senior leadership and consulting positions in the United Arab Emirates, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and Canada. 

Pietras has been employed by the Ontario Provincial Police (OPP) for more than 20 years and is currently the Manager, Security Cyber Team, Security Bureau, and previously held the position of Deputy Directory of Information Technology and Telecommunications Services. 

“I’m excited about the blend of talent and expertise that the new directors bring to an already strong board,” said Dan Germain, who was confirmed for a second year as board chair, along with vice-Chairs Al Scott and Popov.

The composition of the board was reduced from 21 to 20 with approval of a by-law amendment that removes the ex-officio board position reserved for a representative of Simcoe County Council.  It was noted that the hospital continues to actively engage county council through the OSMH Community Engagement Committee and Simcoe County Hospital Alliance. 

OSMH President and CEO Pat Campbell, who will be retiring in July, was acknowledged at the AGM for the accomplishments and leadership she has provided during her tenure, including the establishment of the Integrated Medicine and Rehab Services Unit and the implementation of an Electronic Medical Record. Carmine Stumpo, who will assume the position of President and CEO on July 16, was also in attendance.       

The corporation also paid tribute to departing board members Paulette Wilson and Michael McMurter who each completed six years on the board. A complete list of the new board is available below and on the hospital’s website, under the About Us tab. 




Verified reader

If you would like to apply to become a verified commenter, please fill out this form.