Skip to content

Channel Cats recognize city's top swimmers at annual banquet

Club recognized record breakers, those who demonstrated perseverance, had great attendance, contributed much and exhibited strong work ethic

The Orillia Channel Cats Swim Club recently held their annual awards banquet celebrating another year of competitive swimming in Orillia.      

Swimmers who broke club records, demonstrated perseverance, had great attendance, contribution and work ethic were recognized.     

Club record breakers included: Caleb Near, Blythe Wieclawek, Grier Kershaw, Indiana Abram, Katie Heckendorn, Rowan Hart, Megan Widmer, Chilyn Fenton and Maggie May Smith.       

Awards of Merit went to: Flora Haslem, Meghan Rogers, Peyton Nie,  Ariel McGee, Isabella Holmgren, Nathan McClinchey, Rebecca Masciolli, Maelle Bouchard, Erik Vurma, Jackson Denne, Adair Wieclawek, Katie Heckendorn.      

Most Improved swimmers included: Cameron Tillmanns, Sophie Stegenga, Anna Vurma, Tristan Sekleski, Charlie Tillmanns, Esmee Rosati, Hannah Kennedy,  Blythe Wieclawek, Caleb Near.   

Pool Spa Sauna Showroom Wavemaker Award for the swimmer(s) who act as a team player, show perserverance, works hard in school, friendly attitude on and off the pool deck was awarded to Megan Widmer.      

Team Spirit award For the swimmer(s) who understands the importance of team spirit and display it on a regular basis not only at meets but at our training sessions: 13 & over Owen Wagner, 12 & under Tristan Sekleski.       

The CATS said goodbye to some graduating swimmers as well, who are moving on to post-secondary education and some will continue to swim varsity for their universities: Rowan Hart, Nicolas Rainville, Matthew Gordon, Grier Kershaw, Megan Widmer and Hughie Edwards.