Skip to content

Lakehead honours its top student athletes

Athletes and coaches receive 'well-deserved recognition' at awards banquet


Lakehead University Orillia capped off a successful 2017-18 athletics season on Friday, April 6 with a celebration of its student athletes during the annual Athletic Awards Banquet at Hawk Ridge Golf and Country Club.

“This is a night to highlight our Thunderwolves athletes,” said Elana Weber, Student Athletics and Wellness Coordinator. “It’s an opportunity for all our athletes and coaches to receive well-deserved recognition surrounded by their coaches and teammates.”

To cap off the celebration, Andrew Dobson was named Male Athlete of the Year, while Chauntelle Palmer was recognized as Female Athlete of the Year. Palmer was also recognized as most valuable player for women’s varsity indoor soccer.

Other major award winners included Brennan Kaffer and Lukas Katinas who were named the Ontario Colleges Athletic Association (OCAA) All-Academic Award recipients. The OCAA All-Academic Award is presented to full-time student athletes who also meet honours academic standards at Lakehead University.

Awards were also presented to top student athletes in each of the University’s sports teams: equestrian, men’s and women’s hockey, dance, men’s and women’s soccer, and men’s basketball. Most valuable player and rookie of the year were announced and presented by the team coaches, who were also recognized and thanked by the University.

“Being an athlete is a lot of work on top of being a full-time student, and in some cases, juggling a part-time job,” said Chris Glover, Director of Student Affairs, who addressed the student athletes at Friday night’s banquet. “Although today you are being recognized as athletes, together you represent so much more. You are leaders, passionate members and ambassadors of Lakehead University, and proud Thunderwolves who make this university a special place for so many.”

Since Lakehead Orillia began offering athletic programs back in 2010, the menu of sports offered through the Orillia campus has grown to a multi-level, multi-sport program with almost 100 athletes.

“If it wasn’t for the perseverance and hard work of our athletes and volunteer coaches, we simply wouldn’t have the athletic program we do here at Lakehead Orillia,” said Glover. “We know how important it is to our students to be able to offer these types of programs and we’re hoping to continue to see growth and diversity in what we offer.”

Major Award Winners

Female Athlete of the Year

Chauntelle Palmer – Women’s Varsity Indoor Soccer

Male Athlete of the Year

Andrew Dobson – Men’s Hockey

OCAA All-Academic Awards

Brennan Kaffer – Men’s Varsity Indoor Soccer

Lukas Katinas – Men’s Varsity Indoor Soccer

Team Awards


MVP: Bradi Moore

Rookie of the Year: Sierra Tregear-Paton

Men’s Hockey

MVP: Evan Alexiou

Rookie of the Year: Dexter Bridge

Women’s Hockey

MVP: Clara Hall

Rookie of the Year: Tiffany White


MVP: Ella Baker

Rookie of the Year: Elizabeth Reynolds

Men’s Varsity Indoor Soccer

MVP: Mozeed Labinjo

Rookie of the Year: Cody Hewett

Women’s Varsity Indoor Soccer

MVP: Chauntelle Palmer

Rookie of the Year: Breann Sharma

Men’s Basketball

MVP: Cesar DeGuzman

Rookie of the Year: Breanna Shaw