Skip to content

Orillia's Lady Kings recognize top performers at year-end banquet

A celebration of teams and personal achievements were highlights of season-ending banquet at Hawk Ridge
lady kings lacrosse banquet award winners
The Orillia Lady Kings closed out the 2019 season with an awards banquet at Hawk Ridge Golf and Country Club. Above are some of the individual award winners with their awards. The Orillia Lady Kings executive wish to thank all the sponsors, volunteers, parents and players for a terrific season. Plans are already underway for next season. Contributed photo

The 2019 Orillia Lady Kings rep lacrosse season came to an end eariler this week as executives, players, parents, siblings and guests attended the season-ending banquet held at the Hawk Ridge Golf and Country Club.

Vice President of Lady Kings Lacrosse, Mardi McLaughlin, and her team of volunteers set up the venue and McLaughlin served as the moderator of the evening's events.

A celebration of the teams and some personal achievements were the highlight of the evening as coaches from each group recapped their seasons as well as awarded individual player achievements.

The U19 World Cup event in Peterborough was being held at the same time and a number of Orillia Lady Kings involved in the Team Ontario Canadian Championship as well as the World Cup Festival, were in Peterborough representing their respective teams with great success.

Representing Orillia in the Canadian Women’s Lacrosse Championships, who retained their national gold medals, were Paige Stachura, Kennedy Lynch, Hannah Morris, Kassidy Morris and Jerica Obee despite a season-ending knee injury during her Ontario Women's Field Lacrosse (OWFL) provincial championships two weeks earlier.

Other Lady Kings participating in the World Cup festival event include Emma Torkoff (U17), Kaya Maracle (U17), Kayleigh Aitken (U17) and Riley Marwick (U15).

In OWFL provincial playdowns recently, the Orillia John Mayo BMO Nesbitt Burns sponsored senior team as well as the Sweet Oven sponsored U19B team were provincial bronze medal winners for the 2019 season.

 Award winners for the Orillia Lady Kings rep season are as follows:   


Most improved: Hailey Devine 

Most defensive: Rayne Noganosh 

Heart and hustle: Billie Rouse and Anna Fagan. 


Most improved: Leiah Krynicki. 

Heart and hustle: Mia Ligers and Kaydence Thompson. 


MVP: Sofia Ceccanese

Heart and hustle: Catherine Varley

Most defensive: Ali Rolston 


MVP: Mira Cresanto

Heart and hustle: Jade Shilling 

Most improved: Claudia Page 


Most improved: Jorja hedges

Most defensive: Karley Eckstein 

Heart and hustle: Anna Lajoie 


MVP: Paige Stachura. Jerica Obee and Kassidy Morris. 

Rookie of the year: Emma Torkoff. 

Coaches award: Kayleigh Aitken. 


Most defensive: Avery Paek 

Most improved: Lily Osburn. 

Heart and hustle: Kieran Goldthorpe 

Most sportsmanlike: Reese Oliver. 

The winners of the three major awards were: 

President's Choice Award: Annie Lloyd. 

Joanne Stanga Award: Shannon O’Connor. 

John Mayo Award: Bobbi Parnell.