Skip to content

A banner day for 10 past and current local residents

Culture Alliances announces winning recipients for its Inspirational Peoples banner project

Ten past and current area residents will soon be recognized for their contributions to the local cultural scene.

The Culture Alliance in the Heart of Georgian Bay has announced the winning recipients of its Inspirational Peoples banner project.

Created last year, the project aims to recognize and celebrate the contributions of two people each from Beausoleil First Nation, Midland and Penetanguishene along with Tay and Tiny Townships.

“It's something we wanted to do to celebrate those ones who inspire others to do good in the help honour and respect those legacies," Clayton King, Beausoleil First Nation's heritage and culture coordinator, told MidlandToday when the project was announced last summer.

“One of the things is to really highlight and honour those individuals who have made a difference in the growth of the community and have inspired people to achieve their goals and in shaping their lives.”

Through a community nomination process, two individuals were selected from each community to be represented in this project. Their images, name and occupation/specialty will be printed on large banners and hung in their respective communities this spring.

Plaques will also be created for the selected winners including their biography and will be installed in each community, at a location still to be determined.

The recipients from each community are as follows:

Beausoleil First Nation 

Ogimawahjiwon (c1790-1872) - “Chief of the Flowing Waters” Migizi Doodem/Bald Eagle Clan

William Anthony Monague (1956-2019), “Abwaudung” The Visionary or Dreamer, Ojibwa Native Artist

Town of Midland

Jamie Hunter, Director/Curator of Huronia Museum (1985-2013)

John French, Founder of Brookside Music Association

Town of Penetanguishene

Helen (LePage) Bradley (1934-2010), Senator for the Provisional Council of the Métis Nation of Ontario

Marcel F. Bellehumeur (1912-1978), Francophone and Community Advocate

Township of Tay

Scott Warnock, Former Mayor from 2006-2018

Don Ward, Visual Artist and former CAF Peacekeeper

Township of Tiny

John Hartman, Visual Artist

Robbert Hartog (1919-2008), Philanthropist



Andrew Philips

About the Author: Andrew Philips

Community Editor Andrew Philips is a multiple award-winning journalist whose writing has appeared in some of the country‚Äôs most respected news outlets. Originally from Midland, Philips returned to the area from Québec City a decade ago.
Read more