Skip to content

Iconic pavilion was built on edge of Lake Couchiching in 1912

Take a trip down memory lane to a time when the only way to access the pavilion was by walking across a short bridge
0
63 Water Pavilion postcard May 25
Originally, when the pavilion was built in 1912, it was only accessible by crossing a bridge.

Postcard Memories is a weekly series of historic postcard views and photos submitted by Marcel Rousseau. Some were previously published by the Orillia Museum of Art and History and in the book Postcard Memories Orillia.

You can take a trip down memory lane with us each Saturday morning!

Built in 1912 by contractor W.H. Switzer, the water pavilion was originally accessible only by crossing a short bridge from the shore.

Wood pickets and railings on three sides prevented anyone from tumbling into the water.

The sign mounted on the roof announced Couchiching Beach to boaters.

Today the pavilion is surrounded by land with the waterfront boardwalk crossing in front.




Comments