Skip to content

Tecumseth Street: Stately even at the turn of the century

Take a trip down memory lane to a picturesque north-end neighbourhood

Postcard Memories is a weekly series of historic postcard views and photos submitted by Marcel Rousseau. Some were previously published by the Orillia Museum of Art and History and in the book Postcard Memories Orillia. You can take a trip down memory lane with us each Saturday morning!

This postcard of Tecumseth Street (note the missing “T” on the card), looking east from the corner of Matchedash Street, was mailed from Orillia, in 1909, by Louise Macnab to Mabel Deyell in Bobcageon Ont. 

The first house shown is 82 Tecumseth. It was built in 1904 by Clarence Macnab, who established a hardware store on Mississaga Street in 1892. He operated the store with his sons, Kenneth and Allan.

Four other homes are visible in this early view, numbers 88, 92, 100 and 106 Tecumseth Street. All are still standing today.

The next view of Tecumseth Street is from the same time period, hand-coloured and looking west from near Laclie Street.




Comments