Skip to content

Local youth 'elect' Ainsworth as Orillia mayor

Student Vote put runner-up in top job
020622_student vote 2022
File photo

Many of the election results in Orillia would have been different had some of the younger citizens been able to cast ballots.

The CIVIX Student Vote program saw 127,000 elementary and secondary school students in Ontario cast ballots for who they wanted to see on municipal councils.

In Orillia, students participated in the program at Monsignor Lee Catholic School, Notre Dame Catholic School, Orchard Park Public School, Patrick Fogarty Catholic Secondary School and Twin Lakes Secondary School.

If it were up to the students, Mason Ainsworth, who finished second in Monday’s race to be Orillia’s next mayor, would have the top job. He earned 395 votes, while John Maxwell had 230 and Don McIsaac, who won the actual election, placed third with 195.

Students voted for the following ward councillors.

Ward 1: Paul Cain and Whitney Smith

Ward 2: Ian Gordon and Harold Dougall

Ward 3: Elizabeth Van Houtte and, tied for second, Deval Brahmbhatt and Jay Fallis

Ward 4: Tim Lauer and Janet-Lynne Durnford

Complete Student Vote results can be found here.


Verified reader

If you would like to apply to become a verified commenter, please fill out this form.