Skip to content

Postcard Memories

Boat-building enterprise was a waterfront mainstay

Boat-building enterprise was a waterfront mainstay

John Dean moved to Orillia and started his business in 1870; His grandson became a renowned canoeist
Canoe racing was once a popular activity on Lake Couchiching

Canoe racing was once a popular activity on Lake Couchiching

Back in the day, Ojibwa residents would challenge Orillians to race from the village wharf around Big Chief Island and back
The steamship Geneva was a sight to behold on Lake Couchiching

The steamship Geneva was a sight to behold on Lake Couchiching

Boat was owned by the Longford Lumber Company and was used to ferry passengers on excursions from Orillia to Longford Mills and Geneva Park
Back in the day, this was the hub of the community

Back in the day, this was the hub of the community

Grand Trunk Railway station on Front Street has roots dating back more than 100 years
Cannons at Couchiching Beach Park were a $98 gift from the feds

Cannons at Couchiching Beach Park were a $98 gift from the feds

They were originally mounted on wooden supports, facing the lake; They were mounted more securely years later on a solid, concrete base
This postcard was used to help lure people to Orillia to fish

This postcard was used to help lure people to Orillia to fish

Frank Stewart, one of Orillia's best-known photographers, shows off the spoils of his hunting and fishing expedition
St. Joseph's Convent houses more than a century of memories

St. Joseph's Convent houses more than a century of memories

For many years, the Sisters of St. Joseph taught music lessons in this building at the top of Albert Street in the shadow of Guardian Angels Church
Tudhope car, built in Orillia, had a price tag of $2,500 in 1913

Tudhope car, built in Orillia, had a price tag of $2,500 in 1913

Tudhope Motor Company in Orillia was known throughout the land for the automobiles manufactured at Colborne Street factory
Tom Hill's store was 'most unique gas depot in 50,000 miles'

Tom Hill's store was 'most unique gas depot in 50,000 miles'

Tom Hill built his stand in 1926 from bricks made by inserting glass and pottery into the mortar; The Hill family continues to operate a restaurant locally
Unique series of postcards told some tall tales about Orillia

Unique series of postcards told some tall tales about Orillia

'Exaggeration' photos were originally created by American photographer and sold in communities across North America in 1920s