Skip to content

Simcoe North volunteers receive provincial awards

Twenty-five area residents recognized with Ontario Volunteer Service Awards
111519-volunteer - volunteers
Stock photo

The Ontario government is recognizing 25 Ontarians in Simcoe North with a Volunteer Service Award, an annual award honouring the exceptional contributions of individuals providing dedicated service to a single organization.

Recipients of the award were recognized at a virtual ceremony held on Nov. 29 and will receive a personalized certificate and lapel pin to acknowledge and thank them for their years of service.

“Looking after our neighbours and community has never been more important, and I am grateful to see so many volunteers continue to selflessly step up and embody the best of the Ontario spirit,” said Jill Dunlop, MPP, Simcoe North. “On behalf of Simcoe North, I want to thank and express my deepest gratitude to these incredible Ontarians receiving this year’s Volunteer Service Award for helping to make our community strong and vibrant.”

The 4,555 recipients of the 2022 Ontario Volunteer Service Award, from across the province, support a wide range of organizations and causes, including those serving families, children and youth, vulnerable people, hospitals, senior centres and food security programs. These volunteers also help as board members, in fundraising, in promoting the arts and showcasing the different cultures that make Ontario unique.

The 2022 Ontario Volunteer Service Awards recipients from Simcoe North include:

Youth Volunteer Service Awards — Leo Club Georgian Bay

Joseph Eichhorn

Abbigail Hebner

Isabelle Hebner

Rudy Hopkins

Jasper Hopkins

Ethan Jeanveau

Chandan Mehan

Brody Quesnelle

5 Years of Service

Julia Hanson, Lions Club Midland

Janet Houston, Oro-Medonte Horticultural Society

Julianne Marion, Lions Club Midland

Paige Tupling, Telecare Distress Line of Greater Simcoe

10 Years of Service

Kari Martin, Tec-We-Gwill Women’s Institute

Alison Rumball, Athletics Ontario Officials Council — North Central Region

Donna Windley, Midland-Penetang District CERT

15 Years of Service

Patricia Olesen, Telecare Distress Line of Greater Simcoe

Tom Smitten, Midland-Penetang District CERT

Bev Steele, Midland-Penetang District CERT

John Windley, Midland-Penetang District CERT

20 Years of Service

Ron Walker, Telecare Distress Line of Greater Simcoe

25 Years of Service

George Vadeboncoeur, Rotary Club — Wasaga Beach

Miriam Wright, Telecare Distress Line of Greater Simcoe

30 Years of Service

Rhonda Creasor, Telecare Distress Line of Greater Simcoe

Ron Darbyshire, Telecare Distress Line of Greater Simcoe

Catherine Moore, provincial chapter of Ontario IODE

“Every day thousands of volunteers from all over the province dedicate their time and talents to make Ontario a better place,” said Premier Doug Ford. “As premier, I want to thank each and every volunteer for the efforts they make and the examples they set for the next generation of Ontarians. We could not ask for better role models and we are so grateful to them all.”

“Volunteers are the backbones of our communities. The incredible volunteers in Simcoe North have embodied the best of the Ontario spirit and have shown — through their commitment, dedication and selfless service — that we can achieve anything when we come together as team Ontario,” said Michael Ford, minister of citizenship and multiculturalism. “Our government thanks these incredible leaders, changemakers and everyday heroes for the incredible work they do to make our communities and our province a stronger and better place to live, work and succeed.”

For more information about the program or to submit a nomination, please visit the Ontario Volunteer Service Award webpage.



Verified reader

If you would like to apply to become a verified commenter, please fill out this form.